Three Tribes to Begin Exercising Domestic Violence Criminal Jurisdiction Over All Offenders, Including Non-Indians, Under VAWA Pilot

6 02 2014

Congratulations to Umatilla, Pascua Yaqui and Tulalip!

On February 6, 2014, the Department of Justice announced its first round of approvals of tribes who applied to implement special domestic violence criminal jurisdiction under the Violence Against Women Act of 2013, under the Pilot Project on an accelerated basis. The three tribes are (in alphabetical order) the Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, the Pascua Yaqui Tribe, and the Tulalip Tribes. Under the VAWA Pilot Project, these three tribes will be able to exercise criminal jurisdiction over certain crimes of domestic violence and dating violence, regardless of the defendant’s Indian or non-Indian status.

for further information go to:

for assistance in updating your tribal codes and court procedures contact us at



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: